03 February 2009

Unity for Democracy and Civil Liberties

· Following the 4th Congress of (MPU), (NCGUB) Cabinet had a broad consultation meeting from 24th to 26th January 2009 at Grand Hotel, Malahide, Ireland inviting the following Ethnic, Democracy and Civil Society organizations and observers.

· The conference took place in midst of unprecedented pessimism and criticism notably unity and leadership question in the Movement for democracy in Burma.

· All agreed to pledge to work toward a unified leadership with an integrated action plan to achieve common objectives.

“Unity for Democracy and Civil Liberties”

Malahide Declaration

26 January 2009

1. We, the organizations listed below, wish to express our profound thanks to the Government of the Republic of Ireland and Burma Action Ireland for their generous and kind support which has enabled us to meet here in Malahide, Ireland, from 24 to 26 January 2009.

2. We wish to express our deep appreciation and highest regards to the "Heroes of Democracy" in our country who continue to struggle with perseverance and determination to bring fundamental rights and freedom to the people of Burma in spite of the extreme risks involved.

3. We also wish to salute our courageous colleagues, many of whom have lost their lives and those who continue to languish in prison under harsh conditions, because of their efforts for democracy and civil liberties.

4. We call on the international community to help secure the immediate and unconditional release of all political prisoners, including detained elected representatives, NLD leaders U Tin Oo and Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, ethnic and democracy leaders, including Shan Nationalities League for Democracy Chairman U Khun Tun Oo, and leading members of the 88 Generation Students.

5. We are deeply appreciative of all Burma support groups, NGOs, and institutions which have tirelessly been extending assistance to the Burmese democracy movement and working for democracy in our country.

6. Burma is entering a critical period as the Burmese generals are trying to legitimize military rule in the country on the basis of a unilaterally written constitution and through elections scheduled in 2010.

7. We, therefore, unequivocally declare that we cannot accept the military sponsored constitution of 2008 in its current form. There is still time and opportunities are still available to correct the situation. We unanimously agree to pursue whatever options are available with determination and understanding in the interests of the nation.

8. We are committed to develop a unified leadership with an integrated action plan to achieve common objectives of establishing democracy and federalism in Burma.

1) NCGUB (National Coalition Government of the Union of Burma)
2) MPU (Members of Parliament Union)
3) AAPP (Assistance Association for Political Prisoners)
4) ABSDF (All Burma Students' Democratic Front)
5) CFOB (Canadian Friends of Burma)
6) ENC (Ethnic Nationalities Council)
7) FBF (Free Burma Federation)
8) FDB (Forum for Democracy in Burma)
9) IBMO (International Burmese Monks Organization)
10) NLD/LA (National League for Democracy/Liberated Area)
11) SYCB (Students and Youth Congress of Burma)
12) WLB (Women's League of Burma)

Ministry of Information and Public Relations

No comments: